# Newsletter



## Our next meeting is on:

# **FRIDAY 22nd JUNE**

7.00pm for 7.30pm

Farnham Conservative Club

June 2018 edition

## WSWS 30th ANNIVERSARY

## A CELEBRATION OF BURGUNDY Guest speaker – Alun Griffiths MW

In case you have missed previous announcements we welcome back **Alun Griffiths MW** who will present a *'fine wine tasting'* of 8 quality Burgundy wines - 4 whites and 4 reds wines - these include, among others, a **Montrachet**, **Mersault**, **Vosne Romanée and Nuits St Georges**.

The evening starts with a welcome glass of Crémant before the presentation at 7.30.

A selection of substantial canapés will be served between the whites and reds and will be accompanied by 2 additional what Alun calls drinking wines.

Martin Smith, one of our founder members, will share recollections of the early days of WSWS 30 years ago.

This will be a memorable evening – if you have not already booked then do not delay. WSWS members have until **11**<sup>th</sup> **June** to book exclusively. After that you may also book for guests provided there are spaces.

### Final date for all bookings – 15th June

Tickets - £30 for members, £40 for guests

To book places - email Peter Smith - <u>petervillagestore@gmail.com</u> - 01428 712272 **Payment by BACS** - use your surname and burgundy as the reference - or on the night.

### **May Meeting**

James and Andrea from Majestic Wines in Farnham put on a really enjoyable presentation with a selection of top quality Spanish wines and had carefully chosen wines that most of us were not familiar with. Much enjoyed by all as the picture overleaf shows!

Aprés tasting (Andrea and James on near right)

**Future Meetings** 

July	No meeting		
Monday 20 <sup>th</sup> August	The Natural World of Wine	Tony Burke	
Monday 17 <sup>th</sup> September	The Loire	Heather Dougherty, RedWhiteRose	
Monday 15th October	ТВА		
Monday 19 <sup>th</sup> November	Hidden Treasures from Bordeaux	Frazer Mott, Department 33 Wines	
Monday 17 <sup>th</sup> December	Sherry (TBC)		

#### The committee

Chairman	William Cowpe	Speaker organiser	Peter Smith
Secretary	Max Hubbard		Tanja Lambe
Treasurer	David Rathmell		Bill Loach
Membership Secretary	Tim Thackeray		

